finish line

ravthleteI won a nice batch of medals for my winter olympics projects, pictures to follow once the pre-gifting embargo is past.  I had to withdraw hurt from my main event, the WiP Dancing, when I discovered one of my contrasting colours for fair isle was insuffiently contrasting. However I have now finished the WiP in question, my Bohus cardigan. After the steeking, doing the button bands and spending 3 days waiting for it to dry, at last I get to try it on
100307
pattern: Bountiful Bohus by Chrissy Gardiner (from ‘More Big Girl Knits’ or available free online)
yarn: Jamieson & Smith Shetland Aran, shades BSS15, BSS16, SS3

I’m happy with it, but I’m not sure yet whether I love it.  It’s a bit too big, and also the neck line is too wide (despite my adding extra short rows to bring it in.  I’ve decided I don’t like short row neck lines).  I think it’s going to be more of a jacket than a cardigan.

This year is going to be the year of the jumpers, I think. My next big project is a fair isle jumper for Rob. I have half the yarn (Dale Garn Falk) and have been knitting fair isle hats to check my tension
fair isle beanie in dale garn falkFair Isle baby beanie

I’d forgotten how much I love knitting fair isle. Looking forward to buying the rest of the wool next pay day so I can get it cast on.

4 responses to “finish line

  1. eeeeeeeep! it’s loooooovely… I am a big fan of a) fair isle b) brown and c) cardigans, so I can’t see anything non-awesome about it. Love the buttons too. And the fair isle hats!!! What a great idea, doing a hat as a swatch…. *steals*

  2. it looks fab! a fairisle jacket.. who knew?

  3. WOW! Steeking. I want to knit like you when I grow up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

