old year, new year

Today is such a lovely cold, bright New Year’s Day, perfect for our planned toddle up Mam Tor.  But as we are instead house-bound by a poorly child, I’m catching up on my on-line life after 10 broadband-less days.  Click on more to find out all about my yarn-related Christmas gifting, both given and received.

yarny things given …

Warm Chilli

Everglade detail
for my sister, knitted during the Woolly Wormhead November knit-a-long in possibly my favourite favourite yarn. I so very nearly kept this hat, in fact I probably would have if I hadn’t just made myself a red beret.
pattern: Everglade by Woolly Wormhead
yarn: Sublime Yarns Angora Merino, shade 0045 Chilli

Smoke and coffee

smoke and coffee, for Mum
made for my mum (by request),  named because the colours are caramel, coffee and blue-greys
pattern: Three Tams by Angela Sixian Wu
Yarn: Noro Kureyon, Sublime Yarns Cashmere Merino Silk Aran

Droplet Hat

Droplet Hat
For Chrissie, this was meant to be a relatively quick knit, especially as I substituted chunky yarn for the aran weight the pattern calls for. I got the modifications for the circumference right but this turned out to be a pattern where row gauge matters.  I ended up re-knitting the crown several times before I got it to work out (and I’m still not completely happy with it). I do like the pattern tho, and I also really like Norah Gaughan’s method for making bobbles without having to turn your work.
pattern: Droplet Hat by Norah Gaughan (from ‘Knitting Nature’)
yarn: Sirdar Click Chunky, shade 0128 Tarn

Cat Hat

cat hat, for Sue
for our lovely neighbour and cat-sitter.
pattern: modified version of Witch Cats Hat by Christine de Savoie
yarn: James C. Brett Pure Merino (shades PM3 & PM9), Jaeger Matchmaker Merino DK (shade 882 Haze)

Fetching

Fetching, for Ethel
for my bff’s mum
pattern: Fetching by Cheryl Niamath
yarn: Rowan Pure Wool Aran

His ‘n’ Hers

His & Hers, for Karl & Jenny
fingerless mitts for one of my favourite couples (I did make them a pair each, not just one each)
pattern: improvised
yarn: Rowan Pure Wool Aran, shades 680 Raspberry & 684 Charcoal

Ice Princess

ice princess
for my mother-out-law.   After the problems with the first attempt, I made the second size and it turned out a good fit for a petite woman.
pattern: Mayrose by Woolly Wormhead
yarn: King Cole Mirage, shade 861 Baltimore

Calorimetries
calorimetry
made two of these from one ball of lovely Escape DK
pattern: Calorimetry by Kathryn Schoendorf
yarn: Sirdar Escape DK, shade 0190 Free Spirit

and there was one more knitted gift, made for Rob, but it’s embargoed until the publication of Bobbins

yarny things gotten …

crafty-christmas
Yarn Harlot calendar from Rob; buttons, French knitting doll & most excellent crochet book from sis; swift & ball winder from bff

4 responses to “old year, new year

  1. susetheslowknitta

    wow! you’ve made some fab stuff! well done you!

  2. *runs round to audreys with an armful of skeins to wind*

    awesome xmas prezzies! your family and mates are very lucky…

    Happy New Year to you all, hope the little fella gets well soon. (Mine is a bit poorly too, I think the polite way of describing it is an upset stomach)

  3. WOW, you knit the most wonderful pieces! I’m sorry, I just stumbled across your blog while hunting for pics of Mam Tor. I’m planning a trip Sheffield this summer to finally meet my love and a day at mam tor is definitely on our agenda. I’m from Canada and would absolutely love to move out that way soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

