jumping into the frog pond

When I returned to knitting a couple of years ago, this tahoe cardigan was one of  the first things I knitted.
pink cardigan
I was happy with it to begin with, but it has been languishing in the back of the wardrobe for many months now. I made a poor yarn substitution decision. The Patons DK cotton I used is a lovely yarn for some things, but was not suited to the loose tension of the pattern. With that and the sheer weight of the amount of cotton needed to cover me, it dropped horribly and became unwearable.

So now I am dismantling it. I’ve never done this before, frogged and recycled something I’ve made myself. It doesn’t seem ‘right’ to rip out all that work, all those endless rows of stocking stitch. But what is the point of keeping it as I’m never going to wear it again? The yarn is still in good condition and is a lovely colour, may as well reuse the yarn.  I’m thinking of making the vine stitch wrap from Vogue Knitting on the Go: Shawls.  So I have gritted my teeth and unpicked (OK not unpicked, cut) the seams; going to sit and frog it at knit night tonight.

4 responses to “jumping into the frog pond

  1. I think its wonderful that you have the strength to unravel one of your own knits!!!! I absolutely agree that you should use the yarn for something that you will use and that it isn’t acceptable for it to sit in the back of your closet unloved! Sending good knitting karma your way……

  2. It’s actually very freeing to frog a complete project! I’ve done it, and am much the happier for it. Frog away!

  3. you are indeed very brave, I’ve only ever frogged half-finished things…. but yeah, a jumpers worth of yarn is definitely worth reusing… shame though, that cotton does that, cos the cardie looked lovely to start with…

  4. Yes, frogging a completed cardie is a brave thing to do. The shawl is pretty though.

Leave a Reply

