out with the old, in with the new

my final FO of 2008, finished on 31st Jan Dec, a shawl for my mum who has been in hospital for a bit and looked like she could do with something to keep her shoulders warm while sitting up in bed.
hostipal shawl 2
pattern: La La’s Simple Shawl by Laura Linneman (free ravelry download)
yarn: James C. Brett Marble Chunky in 07 Autumn
needles: 6 mm

…. and the first project I cast on in 2009, salto socks for the Violet Green group’s knit-a-long.
first-day-progress
This was the progress I made on the first day. Then I realised I’d mis-read the pattern and had to frog most of it out. I am nearly back to this point now …

6 responses to “out with the old, in with the new

  1. I’m assuming you finished the beautiful shawl on Dec. 31?

    The Salto looks great, even if you misread the pattern. Unventions can be good, too. Happy new year!

    • yes, I finished the shawl on new year’s eve but couldn’t post it straight away, not until I visited mum to give it to her. The mistake I made on the saltos was to use the same cable pattern for both sides of the sock, not the mirror image for one side. Which would’ve bugged me.

  2. The shawl is very pretty – Marble always comes out very prettily – almost like a poor man’s noro, or at least an easily washable noro.

  3. yes, I love the Marble Chunky. Cheap, washable and doesn’t grow when it hits water.

  4. Very pretty shawl. How much Marble does it take for one? Love the colors.

    • it took about one and a half balls for the one I made. I love Marble Chunky sooooo much. Am going to make myself a beret from the leftovers from my clapotis.

Leave a Reply

