my first flip-tops

I made my first pair of flip-top mittens back in May but couldn’t post about them earlier.  I mistakenly thought the recipient’s birthday was in August, but it actually wasn’t until October, so these have been sitting in the FO box for a while.  They are for a trainee primary school teacher; I thought they’d be good for playground duty, so she can keep her fingers warm most of the time but still be able to pick things up and take down names.
tropical flip top mittens, for Topsy
Pattern: based on Broad Street Mittens by Janis Cortese (from knitty.com)
Yarn: Zwerger Garn Opal 4-fach / 4-ply, colour Doctor Fish
Needles: 2.5 mm (3 mm for bottom half of flip-top) bamboo DPNs

And by coincidence, when I went button shopping Abakhan had these super-cute Doctor Fish that match perfectly
tropical mittens button

What I like about the Broad Street pattern is, it makes a really nice pair of convertible mittens. The I-Cord loop on the top is particularly cute. I made mittens in 4 ply sock yarn using 2.5 mm needles and ended up with a pair that are a little snug on my big-girl hands but fit the recipient perfectly.

What I don’t like about this pattern: normally I wouldn’t criticise a free pattern, I think it’s great that people share their ideas and designs and for free patterns, I can cope with doing a bit of filling in the gaps / interpretation / interpolation myself (and I know my own pattern attempts are far from perfect). But this is a Knitty pattern and it’s not of the standard of pattern writing I’ve come to expect from Knitty. Some of the instructions are incomplete, and the hand waving ‘reverse for other mitten’ is OK for an experienced knitter but not helpful for a beginner.

So maybe one day I will write up my own convertible mittens pattern …. including the new(?) way of adding the flip-top bit I used. I wanted to make the stitches from the back continue into the the top, instead of going back and picking them up later (with a view to being able to incorporate some patterning in later mitts) so tried making extra stitches. I’m pretty pleased with the result, almost seamless. Am not going to claim an unvention (yes I did read EZ on holiday) as I’m sure this has been done before.
mitten top

Leave a Reply

