closing ceremony

Yay I won 3 more ravelympics medals.  Finished my ‘reason monkey’ socks on Thursday, and they were entered in two events, the Sock  Put and the Holiday Handball (can’t put up pictures of the finished socks yet as they are someone’s Christmas present). And on the final day of the Games, in a last minute dash for the line, I started and finished my Free-for-All Freestyle project while watching highlights of sports the BBC considers ‘minority interest’ eg basketball, handball and (my fave) the water polo.

Salvadoran flag
Flag of El Salvador1, for the 198 Countries Peace Project
Crocheted in Robin DK shades white & roayal

holiday handball
sockput
freestyle

1. note for Salvadorans and vexillologists:  I spent a lot of time fretting about how to deal with the coat of arms in the middle of the flag, then the Wikipedia entry for the flag told me that the version bearing the Coat of Arms is used by the government or state organizations. The other version without coat of arms is used for civil purposes. So, I think it is OK to sumbit the civil version! I will be posting it early next week.

3 responses to “closing ceremony

  1. Great Blog, my husband is from El Salvador and ever since I’ve learnt to Crochet (2 years ago). Th only questions I get when I pick up my hook is…when am I going to get a blanket made to look like my flag. I’d love to know what your ideas were on how to deal with the coat of arms.

  2. Thanks 🙂 I chose El Salvador because I have some friends from there. For the coat of arms, the best idea I had was to print it out onto some inkjet transfer paper (the kind you can use for t-shirts and such), iron that onto white fabric and then sew that onto the flag. I suppose if you were very good at sewing/embroidery you could embroider directly onto the crocheted piece. Someone did a great job of the crest on the Argentine flag http://tinyurl.com/6bxmng but she’s a very expert crafter. And the Salvadoran coat of arms is more complicated, but then again on a big blanket there might be enough room …. good luck with it

  3. I was searching for “knitted flags” (I am trying to convince my wife to knit me a big blanket made up on flags) and thus found myself here. I enjoyed the post very much, and love the shot of Rolf Harris on the latest post.

    On other matters, I was doing the rounds of flag fanciers on this here Internet and figured that you might be interested in answering the question of the day that I’ve posted over at my place. It is a two pronged affair and I’m looking to stir debate:

    1. Do you have a favourite flag?

    2. Is there a flag that makes you blush at the blatancy of its fashion faux pars?

Leave a Reply

