on the podium

/fanfare
ravelympics medal
I have won my first Ravelympics medal, in the scarf stroke event, with my Boteh Scarf:

boteh scarfboteh detail

Pattern: Boteh scarf by Kathy Merrick
Yarn: Araucania Ranco Solid
Hook: 4 mm

Loved this pattern and am really glad I bought it. It looks complicated at first but is quite easy to follow and to memorise. The only real problem I had was with the finishing, crocheting all around the edge of the scarf. Pattern says do about 2 stitches for 3 rows but that was far too tight for me, after 4 or 5 times of trying different combinations I ended up crocheting a stitch for every row. I think I will be cranking out a few of these for Christmas presents.

And I am half way through my first sock put sock, fingers crossed I will get it done before the closing ceremony. And must not forget my flag or my WiP wrestling either … (sorry, did you say ‘work’ or ‘studying’? didn’t year you, lalalalalalaalala I can’t hear you ….)

Oh and these are Bea’s socks, I don’t think I ever put up a picture of them after they were finished:
socks for Beatriz
Yarn: Zwerger Garn Opal Regenwald / Rainforest (shade 1614 Frog)
Pattern: Violet Green Sock Pattern Generator
Needles: 2.5 mm Clover Takumi bamboo dpns

Ummm and I seem to have somehow aquired more sock yarn ….
sock yarn shame
oh OK then I bought it, had some spare money at the end of the month which I spent at Violet Green and the Natural Dye Studio. So all my disrectionary spends for thismonth (and next) were spent, and the very next day I went and left my mobile phone on the bus and need to buy a new one ….. oh well, mobile phones don’t keep your loved ones’ toes warm in winter.

One response to “on the podium

  1. What a great scarf! Congratulations on your medal!

    And I love how Bea’s socks turned out — the colorway is great!

Leave a Reply

