cute as a

I love buttons.  When I was little, my mum bought all her buttons and ribbon and zips and such from a haberdashery stall on the market where the loose buttons were displayed in lots of little open boxes.  I loved looking at them and playing with them, sorting them out if they were mixed up, while mum bought things and chatted to the stall lady.

Tubes of buttons just aren’t the same, but I still love shopping for buttons.  Managed to get into Abakhan for this haul
buttons

so I could finally get my flip-top mittens finished
365_021 5 August 08flip top mittens
Pattern: improvised
Yarn: Sirdar Town & Country 4 Ply Sock Yarn, shade 100 Harlequin
Needles: 2.5 mm bamboo dpns

And I have my socks for Bea finished too (post-blocking photo to follow) so the decks are clearing for the ravelympics.  Only trouble is, I am wracked with indecision about which yarn to use for my scarf ….

4 responses to “cute as a

  1. Hi, my daughter has requested gloves just like this, did you kinda combine a glove and mitten pattern?

    Yours look great by the way

  2. thanks 🙂

    I used the broad street mittens pattern from knitty as a jumping off point
    http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEfall02/PATTbroadstreet.html
    (I’ve knit a pair from that pattern that aren’t up yet as they haven’t gone to the recipient yet). The pattern isn’t the best written and has some gaps in it, also as written it would come up very big I think – I did my original pair on 2.5 mm in sock yarn (4 ply) and they are big enough for a normal-size woman. If you poke around on ravelry pattern browser there are various other patterns there for convertible mittens.

    Because I hate picking up stitches I unvented a different way to attach the top, I will get around to writing that up some time soon.

  3. Oooh the mittens are brilliant! Well done! 🙂

  4. Thanks for the tip about the pattern, sorry I’ve only just seen it, I haven’t been scrolling down far enough!!
    Love Janey x

Leave a Reply

