‘just because’ socks

Made these Aurora Monkeys for my friend ‘just because’, because I wanted to try out the pattern and because I love the colours of the yarn and because it’s nice to make a new friend.
aurora monkeys, for Shadi
Pattern: Monkey by Cookie A (from knitty.com)
Yarn: Violet Green SuperSock in Northern Lights 2
Needles: 2.25 mm Clover Takumi bamboo DPNs

I knit on smaller needles because friend is slim, and they fit beautifully. As I was working on these socks I had some doubts about whether the yarn was working with the pattern but once you see the socks on the leg, it works really well, giving a kind of optical illusion, almost 3-d effect. And friend loves them, which is the main thing.

The pattern is great and I might try making some for myself on 2.75 mm needles.

Leave a Reply

