you can’t see the join!

Sitting knitting and chatting with Shadi the other evening, we talked about how knitting is at once so simple (it’s only ever knit and purl) and so full of new challenges (if you want them; you can stay at the garter stitch scarf stage forever and be a happy knitter, if you like). She’s a new knitter and learning with every project (I’m so proud of her, she’s making Fetching gloves – her first project in the round and her first cables). And even though I’ve been knitting for years there are always new things to learn. Right now I am all pleased with myself for I have finally got the grafting and have done my first proper Kitchener-ed toes on socks.

I like this garter rib sock pattern, it is simple to do and makes a nice sock which I hope will stay up. Rob says his socks always fall down (not just the ones I make, shop bought ones too) so I am determined to crack a style and size that stay up on him. Let’s see if garter rib is the answer …

surprise stripes socks, for Rob, on blockers on balconymy first grafted toe

pattern: Garter Rib Socks by Charlene Schurch, from ‘Sensational Knitted Socks (64 stitch size)
yarn: Violet Green Stroud SuperSock, colourway Ebb
needles: Clover Takumi bamboo dpns, 2.5 mm for sock, 2.25 mm for heel & toe

Leave a Reply

