Jeanie

jeanie, for mum
I did enjoy knitting this and am very pleased with the result, and Mum says she loves it. But it did give me some grief, particualrly the finishing. I’ve never managed to graft anything before so grafting k1p1 rib was a ‘challenge’ ahem which may have involved the odd bit of weeping, some throwing things, and occasional shouting at the family to shut up and leave me alone. Only 2 lots of 16 stitches to graft but it was way painful. The finished result wasn’t perfect but was better that I’d expected (and on the upside, at least I feel able to tackle stocking stitch grafting now; in fact I want to make the North Sea Shawl from Folk Shawls that has a big load of grafting in it). And one of the knitted-on bands went a bit weird and I couldn’t work out why.

But on the whole, once blocked and dried, it is beautiful if I say so myself. Enjoy your cruise, mum.

jeanie detail
pattern: Jeanie by Keri Williams
yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy, shade 340 Gothic Rose

And in other news, we had our first knitting meet in our local cafe on Thursday. Only, some people thought it was going to be a knitting class and came along hoping to learn. I brought spare needles and oddments of yarn and assorted books and ended up trying to show 5 people how to knit. And we’re doing it all again next week.

2 responses to “Jeanie

  1. I love your Jeanie. I’m really worried about mine. I’m not even half way done with the body but I hold little hope it will look so fabulous as yours. I fear blocking cannot possibly make it look that much better. Do you have any pre-blocked photos?

  2. Hi, I’m sure your blocked Jeanie will look great. Mine really changed with the blocking. There’s a couple of WiP photos here and here. After blocking it really opened out to show the pattern properly. Remember that there are those big full-length dropped stitches to do right at the end and they open it up a lot, and also the stitches you drop are kind of kinked so they don’t open up. Blocking does make a huge difference and yours will look beautiful when it’s all done 🙂

Leave a Reply

