Evenstar Gloves

Evenstar Gloves
I’ve now knitted a second pair of these, and written up the pattern as I’ve gone along.  There are some minor changes from the originals, but the finished glove is pretty much the same. Click here to download the pattern pdf (updated 15 May 11, download now includes chart).  As usual, please note that some rights are reserved and in particular that no commercial use is permitted.

29 January ’10: this pattern is now also available as a free ravelry download

29 August ’10: a chart is now available for the cable pattern, thanks to the very wonderful geneticsgirl - click for chart

15 May ’11: pdf download now includes geneticsgirl’s chart; pattern also now available in Italian, very many thanks to ravelry user Ekeloa for the translation

evenstar detail

These long, fingerless gloves were originally created during our Lord of the Rings extended editions watch-a-thon, and are inspired by Arwen as I imagine her from the books.  The beautiful silvery-blue yarn made me think of starlight and of the Evenstar of her people.

You will need 2 x 50g Debbie Bliss Cashmerino DK in shade 008 (pattern uses approx 170 m of yarn) and a set of 3.25 mm dpns (or smaller/larger to adjust glove size).  The finished glove fits my traditionally-built arms (wrist = 21 cm around) and the arm measures approx 12 cm to the wrist.

The thumb is made using Elizabeth Zimmerman’s ‘thumb trick'; if you need more information on this see Knitter’s Almanac or this photo-tutorial from A Kitten Knits.

I’m still new to pattern writing so please let me know if there are any errors or problems.

Evenstar Gloves

27 responses to “Evenstar Gloves

  1. Wow…I knit, but nothing like this. These look great! :D

  2. Wow, beautiful cable work! Love these :)

  3. The cable looks really interesting, and a bit different.

  4. thanks for all the nice comments :) I do love cables, particularly long sinuous ones that criss cross each other. I look forward to seeing other people’s versions …

  5. Beautiful!

  6. Pingback: Lime & Violet’s Daily Chum » Blog Archive » Advent Calendar - Women’s: Evenstar Gloves

  7. A lovely pattern – thank you for publishing it!

  8. I really like this pattern especially the cable pattern. Could this be adapted for mittens?

  9. Hi
    i love the pattern. I was wondering if you could help me with something I’m curently on my 4th attempet and am haveing problems makeing the bumps at the bottom before you start the cable pattern. any segestions?

    • Hi there, I’d love to help but I’m not sure what you mean by ‘the bumps at the bottom’? After casting on you knit 6 rounds of P4 K4 rib (ie [purl 4, knit 4] repeat to end) , then start the cable pattern. If you could explain a bit more what you’re having problems with, I’ll try and help some more

  10. This pattern is so gorgeous! I had never knitted anything with double-pointed needles before, but I fell deeply in love with these gloves the moment I saw them, went out and bought the needles, and started knitting. I had never done anything nearly so difficult before, but my, it was worth it! I am now typing while wearing my newly completed pair. Thank you so much for posting this pattern! The fact that they were inspired by Arwen Undomiel makes me even happier. They definitely fit how I think of her as well.

  11. Hello,
    Thank you so much for sharing this pattern. This is my first cabled pattern. I am having a little problem with the main cable pattern at the 21st round where it says to do the first wrapping around. It also seems to imply there are 17 stiches to work in the cable this round but in all rounds previously there where 16. It seems to be off somehow..it isn’t falling where it should. Did you have this problem or am I missing something? Thank you for all your help.

  12. Nevermind. Immediately after I sent the first message I realized what I was doing wrong..hah. Thanks anyways

  13. I love that pattern and I tried to follow the directions but it keeps messing up :( I keep getting confused

  14. Pingback: Canada Hall, 2 of the Morning, Saturday 10 Oct., Being an account of the days since 1 Oct. « My Little Green Frog

  15. I LOVE these gloves. I finally made something for myself and these were it…The pattern was very well written. I used bamboo silk yarn and they are very warm..Thanks so much for this great pattern.

  16. Pingback: Christmas Knitting Update « Let be be finale of seem.

  17. These are gorgeous. I’m working on a pair right now with worsted weight Alpaca yarn. Do you know if the pattern can be easily adapted to a hat?

  18. Beautiful:)))

  19. Pingback: Finished at last « Apples and Swingsets

  20. Pingback: Evenstar « Catholic Modest Crafting

  21. I was having trouble with another pattern for fingerless gloves and I ran across this pattern on Google. Being a huge LotR fan, I knew I had to knit them. Surprisingly, they were easier than I though they would be, especially considering I’ve only ever knit a couple of scarves, hats, and one baby sweater. Thanks so much for the pattern!

  22. Pingback: A New Glove v3 ~ Lina Gabriev « Ramblings of an Eccentric English Rose

Leave a Reply

