heterocyclic hat pattern

A beanie-style hat for organic chemists everywhere.

Heterocyclic Hat (for Karl)
Knit in the round, using dk/sport weight yarn on 3.75 mm needles, incorporating 4 important molecules. If you aren’t familiar with stranded colour work, read Theresa Vinson Stenersen’s tutorial on knitty.com.

click here for pattern pdf

Creative Commons License
licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 UK: England & Wales License.

STRICTLY NO COMMERCIAL USE

29 January ’10: this pattern is now available as a free ravelry download

Corrections 18 March ’08 – I have uploaded a revised chart which now shows the correct hexagonal benzene rings for serotonin and pencillin; thanks to ‘As you lean’ for pointing out the errors in the original

Heterocyclic molecules have atoms other than carbon (hetero-) in a carbon ring structure (-cyclic). The molecules on this hat are …

theobrominetheobromine

penicillinpenicillin

caffeinecaffeine

serotoninserotonin

I’m new to pattern writing and chart design so please let me know if you come across any mistakes.

photo posed by models – not a genuine organic chemist

9 responses to “heterocyclic hat pattern

  1. This is fantastic! I love it. Wonderful job, I will certainly be knitting it shortly.

  2. The left hand ring on serotonin looks like it has 8 members and contains a nitrogen. It should have 6 sides and no heteroatoms. Otherwise this hat is completely filled with awesomeness.

  3. aargh you are right about the N and the octagon
    /bangs stoopid head on desk
    I will correct the chart as soon as I get my laptop fixed.

  4. OMG! That is so clever! Who would have thought? Well…apparently you. *LOL* good for you.

    babs

  5. This is perfect for my chemist neighor. Thanks

  6. Pingback: pattern correction: heterocyclic hat « audreym’s occasional blog

  7. This is amazing. My life is completely ruled by both caffeine and serotonin, so I really need to incorporate both of them into something.
    Thanks!

  8. Pingback: Related Free Patterns « YARN THEORY

  9. Thank you thank you!
    I’m plotting a pair of organic chemistry socks… and you’ve given me a brilliant and well directed launching point! Mine will be textured, not color work (I only have one skein of multi-colored yarn, and though black would be good… I have none to go with it), but I will almost certainly be using caffeine! Maybe also the chocolate one, and serotonin.
    You’ve made my day!
    (If only the chemist in question lived on this continent, I’d totally make the hat for him)

Leave a Reply

